Family Table Community

The Roots of Love + The Love of Roots. Your Double Helping of Food+Inspiration.

Root Vegetable Pita Sandwich

We’re in the process of moving, so the kitchen is a bit…. out of sorts. Hauling all our books is a workout (which I appreciate) and it’s led me to rediscover some of my favorite standbys that had fallen dusty behind newer interests. I love to read. I love all sorts of books, not just cookbooks. The blog Civil Eats recently posted Farmers Talk About the Books that Inspire Them and I took some suggestions off their list, a few I haven’t had the privilege of reading yet.

Here’s what I’m adding to my winter reading list:

  • How to Grow More Vegetables Than You Ever Thought Possible on Less Land Than You Can Imagine by John Jeavons
  • Full Woman, Fleshly Apple, Hot Moon by Pablo Neruda
  • Any suggestions you may have for me? I’d appreciate it!

Anyway, it’s been pretty convenient having lots of food cooked and ready to go – makes lunch and dinner a snap! Yesterday, I supported the internet protest of SOPA/PIPA. Today, I share with you….

Dinner.

Whole Wheat Pita with Root Vegetables

You could fill this any number of ways, but I used what I had on hand: roasted potatoes, cauliflower, turnips and carrots, fresh arugula, roasted garlic, and greens (rabe, kale, chard). Add a dollop of fresh ricotta and you’ve got a delicious sandwich going on. It’s easy to pack, and wrapped in tinfoil it’s wicked easy to eat in the car.

What’s your favorite filling for pita sandwiches?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

