Family Table Community

The Roots of Love + The Love of Roots. Your Double Helping of Food+Inspiration.

Sunday: Shopping+Prep List

Soluna Garden Farm

Shopping on a Sunday isn’t my favorite, I prefer to do it on Saturday so I can cook Sunday morning and afternoon, but this Saturday I attended the NOFA/MA Winter Conference all day! It was pretty fantastic, and I picked up a box of spices from my new obsession: Soluna Garden Farm in Winchester, MA. You’ll definitely be seeing their herb and spice blends mentioned in the coming days.

I buy as much organic as possible, but that’s just me. I also believe that you should try to buy the highest quality food you can afford – the ingredients marked with an * are the ones I think it’s most important to pay extra for. Cooking is personal  and I encourage you to adapt these recipes for your own tastes. Have fun and don’t take it too seriously!

goldthreadherbalapothecary.blogspot.com

Shopping list this week:

  • Parsnips – look for ones that are firm with no soft spots. They should smell herby and earthy
  • * 1lb Unsalted butter
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 fennel bulbs, with fronds if possible
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 bunches Italian Parsley
  • 1 loaf of crusty bread (or make it yourself! I would love to bake my own bread – it’s on my bucket list, right under learning to be patient…)
  • Arborio rice (you can buy this in the bulk section)
  • Sundried tomatoes
  • 3 bulbs garlic
  • Pre-washed salad greens
  • Cauliflower
  • 2 bunches of kale – can be red, green, whatever looks the most appealing
  • 2 bunches broccoli rabe – make sure there are no yellowing leaves
  • Quinoa (from bulk)
  • Whole wheat pita bread – the big ones, not the minis
  • * Fresh ricotta
  • Potatoes, anything but Russet
  • 1 bunch beets, with greens if possible
  • Lentils (you can also get these in bulk)
  • Plain Greek Yogurt (I love Fage 2%)
  • Dried dates (from bulk)
  • Fresh Ginger (I like to buy young ginger from Old Friends Farm in Amherst, MA)
  • * A dozen large eggs – if you know someone with chickens, make friends with them!
  • White beans (you can get them in a can or dried, I prefer the dried)
  • 2 oranges
  • 3 Apples
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 1 red onion
  • Steel cut oats (from bulk)
  • 2 red grapefruits
  • Brussels sprouts
  • * Parmesan cheese

This stuff will serve as the foundation for the meals I make this week. I’ve got a pretty well-stocked pantry so I don’t need many basics, like olive oil or sea salt. Check your pantry and see what you already have and can use up. In addition to the meals I make, I’ll probably make some sort of cornbread, a quick bread (I almost always have at least 2 brown bananas, I honestly don’t know how), and a batch of chocolate chip cookies.

Tonight’s Prep List:

I have to get as much done at the beginning of the week as possible, between work, family, friends, and other commitments it’s the only way I can get dinner on the table before my daughter’s bedtime! I enlist my husband and 5-year old for their help as well, which makes for some fun family time. One other tip – clean as you go to avoid a giant mess at the very end.

  • Preheat oven to 450
  • Fill the largest pot I own with water and bring to a boil, salt the water until it tastes like mild sea water. This is to blanch the vegetables and to start the vegetable stock. You’ll retain this broth to use during the week, so strain it at the end and save it in the fridge.
  • Clean and trim kale, rabe. Save the scraps.
  • Cut red onion in half. Thinly slice one half, dice the other half. Save scraps.
  • Peel and trim carrots. Save peels.
  • Cut the rind off your parmesan cheese. Save it.
  • Blanch the kale, beet greens, and rabe in this order in separate batches. You’re going to use the same pot of water for everything. I don’t shock them in cold water afterwards, it seems rather unloving, I just pull them out with tongs, shake off the water, and lay them on a cookie sheet.
  • After you blanch the greens, add your trimmings and scraps to the pot of water along with the parmesan cheese rind. Keep it on a low simmer while you continue to work.
  • Make Ghee from 3 sticks of butter (save the 4th stick)
  • Peel Garlic (save about 4-6 cloves raw) and bake with olive oil in the oven until creamy and buttery. I use a mini Dutch oven with a lid for this, but you can just douse all the cloves in olive oil and wrap in aluminum foil to bake.
  • Roast Beets: In a square casserole pan, put a splash of water, a quick pour of olive oil and the whole beets together and cover tightly with foil. They will take about 45 minutes to cook, depending on the size. You’ll know when they are done if you can easy fork them.
  • Soak beans (if you bought dried)
  • Cook Lentils
  • Cook Quinoa
  • Peel the parsnips (don’t add these to the stock).
  • Cut carrots, parsnips and all but 2 potatoes into chunks. Lay them flat on a cookie sheet (use two if you have to) and coat with olive oil and a sprinkle of sea salt. Roast in the oven. Taste them periodically, they are done with they are delicious. Do the same for the cauliflower.
  • Chop parsley, add stems to the stock. Turn off heat. Strain the broth into a jar.

Once everything is cooked and cooled, store it in glass containers in your fridge.

Monday we’ll start with Broccoli Rabe & Parmesan Risotto and a side salad.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sunday: Shopping+Prep List

  1. Pingback: Rabe Risotto « Family Table Community

  2. Pingback: Tomato Fennel Soup with White Beans « Family Table Community

Leave a Reply

